SHARED SPACE

Shared space is something precious. At university, your office, your shared flat or coworking space, people come together with the same intentions. Everybody has a different background though. I am lucky for a few days to enjoy this working space here in Pisac. So I can summarize all my reports and put them together on this website. It is just temporary and a I am aware of it. What I wasn't really aware of was the silence I demanded, which also limited my friend in his freedom. We spoke about it and everything was fine again. Now we have found the same level. To specify the situation for you. If you are working concentrated on something and you have your favourite music playing or not. Then all of a sudden a total different noise appears. In this case someone started drumming on some plates in the kitchen behind me. Or a different situation when a truck is pulling off in front of your window, some handyman is working nexts door or the guy upstairs is trying his new sound system. What the hell! Mostly the first reaction is. `Stop this!' Maybe with a gesture you're trying to signalize 'stop this I can not concentrate, don't you see that I am working here?!'

I just had a different insight in the situation.

Who are you that you can claim the space for yourself? You are taking silence for granted?

On the other hand, have other people living there the right to break the silence?

But then again my ego tries to stick to its own view and defend the point:

>You should respect the silence, because the silence was there first...

 

I have to admit that I was a small dictator in that situation with my gestures saying > Stop this, this is annoying! And he just tried to be spontaneous and creative. I guess this is our ego trying to make the world for us perfect and any disturbance brings imbalance. If we really want to grow and stand over it, we have to let things happen and let go. Doesn't actually matter what it is, either noise, thoughts, emotions or pain.

 

Adrian 6.4.18